RSS Feed

Movies I adore…..part 1

Because the word “love” just doesn’t say it well enough, here are some movies that I freaking adore.

In no particular order (this may get really long, sorry in advance)

Look Who’s Talking; Look Who’s Talking, Too; and Look Who’s Talking Now

 Photobucket

There’s possibly nothing cuter than smart-ass little talking babies, except for talking doggPhotobucketies. Even at a young age (the first movie came out in 1989 — I was 3!) I would sit, riveted by this movie. I didn’t get the beginning of it, for sure, because I couldn’t figure out why they were showing tadpoles, but whatever. I loved it then, still do now.

One of the things I’ve always loved about the movie, even from a young age? John Travolta. Oh, even yesser. (Not so much now, but….) I have to admit, since I was about 10, I wanted to grow up and marry John Travolta. I mean, sure, there was that whole “age” issue, but pshaw, I would be way too mature and grown up to worry about that.Photobucket

Some of my favorite lines:

Mollie: I’m a very understanding person, Albert. I understand that you are going through a selfish phase. And, I’m sure that you will understand that I am going through a destructive phase.

James: Whoa! You really got your figure back, didn’t you?
Mollie: This is not my figure!
James: Well then, you got Dolly Parton’s figure back!

*********From the 2nd movie***********

James: Mike, this is a potty okay? Now when you wanna take a piss …
Mollie: Don’t say piss.
James: Okay, when you wanna take a whiz …
Mollie: Ugh!
James : What? “See a man about a horse”? “Drain the snake”? What do you want me to say?
Mollie: Pee-pee.
James: Pee-pee is such a wimp word.

Mikey: Got you a gift for coming into the world, here it is,
[offers her a stuffed cow]
Mikey: Have a cow, honey.
[Julie begins to bawl]
Mikey: Alright don’t have a cow.

Julie: [when Julie is getting an injection, looking at the needle] What’s that?
Mikey: Oh, God, I can’t watch this part.
Julie: Oh my God!
[cries hysterically]
Mikey: Smarts, does it? Hm? Hurts just a little?
Julie: Will this pain *ever* go away?
Mikey: Maybe it will… or maybe it won’t

******From the 3rd Movie*******

Mikey: I don’t wanna brush my teeth. I brushed them last Saturday!
James: I know, but you’re gonna have plants growing out of your mouth.

Mollie: Once upon a time there was a beautiful princess, and she moved to Queens. The end.
Julie: That’s not a story!
Mollie: It is tonight. Good night.

********************************************************

Grease
Photobucket

What? Obsessed with John Travolta until I was sixteen, here. Give me a break. That severely influenced my movie tastes, so sue me.

The songs, the dancing, the clothes. God, the clothes. I mean, for the love of holy donuts, how can you not love poodle skirts?

Photobucket

We did the on-stage version of Grease in High School and it was the most fun production we ever did, the songs and everything really translated nicely over to the stage.

Next up: Moulin Rouge

 Photobucket

I actually fell in love with this movie by accident. It was after the Lady Marmalade song came out, and I really wanted that song on CD, and it came on the Moulin Rouge soundtrack. So, I got my mom to buy it for me and was hooked on the music within a few hours. I didn’t stop listening to that soundtrack until it wore out.

 Photobucket

In any event, one weekend my little brother was at his dad’s house and my mom asked if I wanted to go see Moulin Rouge since I’d done nothing but listen to the soundtrack. She hated the movie and I adored it.

It’s a little “jumpy” — almost kind of like you are on some sort of drug-induced trip at some times, but the music and the costumes make it all worth it. The storyline fell right in to line with what I was obsessed with in my teenage years: love. I’ve always been a believer in love, and that it conquers everything, so this movie resonated with me on that level.

Favorite quotes:

Toulouse: [shouting] The greatest thing you’ll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return

Satine: I don’t need you anymore! All my life you made believe I was only worth what someone would pay for me! But Christian loves me. He loves me! He loves me, Harold. And that is worth everything! We’re going away from you, away from the Duke, away from the Moulin Rouge!

Zidler: The show must go on, Satine. We’re creatures of the underworld. We can’t afford to love.

Christian: Suddenly an unconscious Argentinean fell through my roof.
Christian: He was quickly joined by a dwarf dressed as a nun.

Next: Gone with the Wind

Photobucket

The only regret I have is that I went until the 8th grade without seeing this move. Being a Southern girl at heart, this movie is visually stunning, captivating and Clark Gable is the hottest, most debonaire man I think I ever did saw. (Oh, lawdy, someone fetch my smellin’ salts.) He was a man’s man, too. He almost quit when he found out he’d have to cry on film, but was convinced to stay.

Photobucket

I don’t care that the movie is fourtybajillion hours long or that some parts of it are so slow, I almost fall asleep, this is one of my favorite movies of all time. I cannot help but watch it all when I put the DVD in, even if I know I need to get up and do something and I was only plannin’ on fastforwarding to the “good” parts.

The only problem I have is that the book Scarlett (the sequel to Gone with the Wind) wasn’t written early enough for Clark Gable and Vivien Leigh to be able to get together and make it for the silver screen.


Sigh.

Favorite Lines:

Rhett Butler: Here’s a soldier of the South who loves you, Scarlett. Wants to feel your arms around him, wants to carry the memory of your kisses into battle with him. Never mind about loving me, you’re a woman sending a soldier to his death with a beautiful memory. Scarlett! Kiss me! Kiss me… once…

Rhett Butler: Did you ever think of marrying just for fun?
Scarlett: Marriage, fun? Fiddle-dee-dee. Fun for men you mean.

Scarlett: Oh, Rhett, Rhett please don’t say that. I’m so sorry, I’m so sorry for everything.
Rhett: My darling, you’re such a child. You think that by saying, “I’m sorry,” all the past can be corrected. Here, take my handkerchief. Never, at any crisis of your life, have I known you to have a handkerchief.
Scarlett: Rhett! Rhett, where are you going?
Rhett: I’m going back to Charleston, back where I belong.
Scarlett: Please, please take me with you!
Rhett: No, I’m through with everything here. I want peace. I want to see if somewhere there isn’t something left in life of charm and grace. Do you know what I’m talking about?
Scarlett: No! I only know that I love you.
Rhett: That’s your misfortune.

Scarlett: As God is my witness, as God is my witness they’re not going to lick me. I’m going to live through this and when it’s all over, I’ll never be hungry again. No, nor any of my folk. If I have to lie, steal, cheat or kill. As God is my witness, I’ll never be hungry again.

 Trivia:

The character of Ashley Wilkes was based on Margaret Mitchell’s cousin by marriage John “Doc” Holliday. Melanie was based on Mitchell’s third-cousin, and Doc’s first cousin and close friend, Mattie “Sister Melanie” Holliday. Doc moved West and became the gambler and gunfighter we know. Mattie joined a convent and became a nun, but maintained a correspondence with Doc.
 
Leslie Howard was one of the few cast members not to attend the premiere in Atlanta.
 
Leslie Howard originally tried to turn down the movie because, in his fourties, he believed he was too  old to play Ashley. He ended up wearing a hairpiece and extra makeup to make himself look younger.
 
Half a million feet of film were shot. This was all edited down to 20,000 feet.
 
There are more than 50 speaking roles and 2,400 extras in the film.
 
This was not the first movie to use the word “damn”.
 
For the premiere in Atlanta in December 15, 1939, the governor declared a state holiday. Ticket prices for the premiere were 40 times the usual going rate.
 
 
 Part two of Movies I adore sometime this week, hopefully.
 
Leave a Reply

