RSS Feed

Where I thank Ree for me seeing a movie McHusband suggested years ago….

The other day (maybe it was yesterday) Ree over at The Pioneer Woman (seriously, if you’ve never been to her blog, run DO NOT WALK, right now over to it, it’s amazing, you will love her, and not in a weird way, in a nice, sweet way) had this whole post about the movie When Harry met Sally and all the things she loved about the movie (specifically, it was this post). I’d never seen this movie. (Shut up! I am so a girl!)

Mostly because I grew up in the ’90s and we had people like Leonardo DiCaprio to obsess over.

”]Plus, in the ’90s — Billy Crystal was Mitch Robbins from City Slickers and everyone (me) was fine with that.

So, when my husband first mentioned the movie (he made a reference to the high maintenance woman who thinks they are low maintenance [I should probably check to make sure he didn’t mean me]) and asked me, almost incredulously, “You haven’t seen When Harry met Sally? REALLY?!?!”

I should have known then it was the movie for me, but no, just like I’ve turned away from other movies McHusband has suggested for me (I have good reason to, this man suggested I would lurve Lonesome Dove and almost every character dies in that movie, AND he made me watch the movie where John Wayne[‘s character] dies, I can’t remember what it’s called), I snubbed my nose when he suggested we watch When Harry met Sally one night before Thing 1 was born.

Oh, dear readers, how I wish I’d had taken him up on that offer.

Tonight, I watched it and I have to say, McHusband was right (don’t tell him I said that) this is one of the best romantic comedies I’ve seen in a while. It was wonderful, it was funny, it was dark and sarcastic, and perfect.

I mean, absolute perfection.

Although Ree, in the post above, does a great job of listing the best lines from the movie (what? you haven’t read her post yet? what are you WAITING for?) — she forgot a scene that will forever be my favorite.

It’s the scene where Sally calls Harry in tears to come over because her ex is getting remarried, and this exchange happens after he gets to her house:

Sally: No, no, no, I drove him away. AND, I’m gonna be forty.
Harry: When?
Sally: Someday.
Harry: In eight years.
Sally: But it’s there. It’s just sitting there, like some big dead end. And it’s not the same for men. Charlie Chaplin had kids when he was 73.
Harry: Yeah, but he was too old to pick them up.

I had to pause the movie, rewind it five million times, just to re-watch that scene over and over, it was absolutely hilarious.

So, thank you, Ree, for writing a post on When Harry Met Sally, which convinced me to see it.

(No, it’s not weird that I’m thanking someone I’ve never met and doesn’t know me from Adam, this is the internets, y’all.)

Leave a Reply

