RSS Feed

Graduation

I hadn’t planned on going to Graduation this Friday. I knew that it was mandatory to get my diploma, but I also know that I live 100 miles away from where I’m graduating, therefore it would make more sense for me to stay home. Why drive all that way twice (the day before for practice) just to walk across a stage?

The Husband was very upset that I’d decided not to go. Very. Upset. He wanted me to go because he knew that, in the future, we could show the kids the pictures and say, “See, Mama went to college, she graduated, this is a good thing.” Especially since we both got our GEDs so we don’t have any High School graduation pictures to show.

The problem with living in Wyoming is that no one else can make it. My dad wanted to come, but I told him not to, as I’m making a trip to Florida, and didn’t see the need for him to come up here. Plus, I wasn’t planning on walking. I have no desire to do this.

Today, I called, and the person I talked to said if I didn’t go, then they wouldn’t give me my diploma. Is that true? Probably not. Did it scare me enough to go to the graduation? Yeppers.

So, on Friday night, I’m walking across a stage in a cap and gown. Who knows what I’m going to wear underneath it, but I’m at least going in a gown. The Husband thinks I can just wear jeans and a t-shirt, but I told him that I can’t do that. He thinks that since I’m wearing a robe, I can wear whatever underneath it and it’s no big deal.

Men.

In any event, I’m going. I’m walking. There will be pictures.

I will actually get my AA degree.

Then, in the Fall, I’ll start on my BA, and in two years, I’ll walk again. Across a stage. With a robe and hat on. There will be pictures.

So, there’s that.

2 responses »

  1. You go girl! Congratulations!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

