RSS Feed

In addition…

In addition to a Kitchen Stuff Obsession, and a Tudors obsession, I also have two other obsessions: Sephora and Baby Stuff. I’m not pregnant.

Every time I go to “the Wall store” or “the Circle store” (nicknames given to Wal-Mart & Target by the kids) — I walk through the baby section. I “ooh” over new strollers or swings and I “ahh” over carseats and baby toys, I “aww” over baby clothes and then my uterus kicks me. Not out of anger, or trying to tell me to put down the onesie and walk back to the Kitchen section, but because my poor uterus is sad. She and I and the Husband and the kids want more babies.

But then? I think about the fact that I’m this*close to having both kids in school. I have two years left of school. If I have another kid, that means more daycare costs. Diaper costs. (OMG DIAPERS COST SO MUCH, are they lined with GOLD?!) Sleep deprivation.

But then? I think about the first baby smile. The coos and baby giggles. The chubby legs and the smell. Oh. My. GOD. That smell. That baby smell is amazing. I mean, simply amazing. If I could bottle that smell and sell it, I would be rich. Everyone would buy it. The firsts. I miss the firsts. The first smile, the first step, the first time the baby pees on mommy or daddy as they change the diaper.

So, I have a baby stuff obsession. I don’t ever (hardly) buy anything. I just walk by and look and my uterus cries huge tears as I tell her to shut up and chill out.

But sometimes, I tell her just to wait a little while longer.

One response »

  1. 🙂 We just had a 2nd baby. Planned but of course when you first bring them home you think – What were we thinking!? But you’re right – the first coo, smile and they just melt your heart. I hope if you want more kids that you get your heart’s wish.
    Ps-As a mom you might like this link: It’s called the Mom’s Guide to Caring for Little Teeth (http://www.1dental.com/moms-guide/). It’s given me practical health tips for my 4 year old and infant. Helpful stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

