RSS Feed

Looking out for me…

My son is only five, but he’s already looking out for me.

After The Husband came back from his latest trip “into the field” — my son and he had this exchange:

Thing 1: Daddy, can I talk to you for a minute, please?
The Husband: Sure, what’s up?
(Thing 1 grabbed The Husband’s hand and led him to our bedroom)
Thing 1: When you aren’t home, Mommy sleeps on the couch.
The Husband: Okay.
Thing 1: I think she’s scared to sleep in the bed.
The Husband: Well, I don’t think that’s it.
Thing 1: Daddy, I scared for Mommy (I tend to think this means he’s “worried” about me)
The Husband: There’s nothing to worry about, your mommy is fine.
Thing 1: Okay, but I think you should stay home more.
The Husband: I know, but I can’t right now.
Thing 1: Okay, Daddy, that’s okay. I just scared for Mommy.
The Husband: (hugging him) It’s okay, everything is okay.

As sweet as this is, I’m a little … sad … (that’s the best word to describe it) that my son has become concerned with my sleeping habits. I don’t sleep in the bed when The Husband isn’t home, not because I am scared or anything, but because I just can’t sleep in our bed when he’s not here.

I’m not sure why. I just toss and turn all night.

As much as my heart aches because my son felt he had to bring this to The Husband’s attention, I understand why he would be “scared” for me. I get it, and I can’t help but think about how much this means that my little boy is growing up.

Which probably makes my heart hurt more than anything else.

Leave a Reply

