RSS Feed

Books That Changed My Life: Atlas Shrugged

Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand – This book is absolutely amazing for so many different reasons.  Many people read it and say it changed their lives for different reasons, be it that Dagny (the heroin) is so strong willed, that it gave them the confidence to be a strong-willed business woman; or that it gave them the thought of changing their political ideals, either way, there are many different reasons that people read this book and walk away with their worlds altered. If I’m being honest, it was a few different things for me, sort of a mix of things, really. The first thing that changed me was that the main character was a woman, and she is an absolutely amazing woman to idolize and to look up to. She taught me that being strong is not always easy, but it can be done. Dagny also, in a way, showed me that being a business woman is amazing and wonderful, but that finding that man that you will always love is worth being a strong, loving wife at home. The other thing that this book taught me is that governments cannot always be trusted. That doesn’t mean that I’m walking around with my tinfoil hat on, but it does mean that when the government does something, I look at it skeptically, wondering why they are doing what they are doing, or if it will really be a good thing in the long term.  Another thing that this book taught me was: the people in our country that are producing, the ones that are making our lives not only easier, but better off, do not need to be run out of our country. There are so many laws that restrain business out there right now, and some of those should be done away with, in my opinion. There are things that the government should step away from, and allow the people that make this country amazing to take their business to the heights that they want, right here in America. This book also shook my sense of politics. It made me question my Conservative viewpoints and wonder if I was on the right track. By the end of it, my political views had changed, and now I am more of a Libertarian point of view, or “live and let live”, because yes, I want my government to protect me from wars, but no, I don’t want the federal government telling me what I can and can’t do. The last thing that this book did for me was make me realize that if someone comes up with a new idea, or a new invention, it isn’t my job or your job or the government’s job to take that from them, it’s their idea, it’s their invention, and there is no reason for someone to step in and demand it from them.

I cannot rave enough about this book, it is amazing. I wanted my husband to read it so bad (he’s not a big reader) that I downloaded the audio book on my old iPod and he’s almost done with it now! He loves it, too, although, I think he’s not being shook by it as much as I was, maybe because he’s not reading the words and absorbing them the same way. Either way, the book is amazing, and has literally changed my life in many different ways.

As a matter of fact, I’ve decided that when I become a college professor in Literature, this will be required reading.

There is an affair in this book that is highlighted pretty predominately, so if that offends you, then you should probably skip over those parts, but for the love of Heaven, read this book. It will change your life.

 

Leave a Reply

