RSS Feed

Booking It On My Own : Month Two

I’m Booking It with Life As Mom!

This month I only read one book for pleasure, because I still am working on those papers for my classes and am having to scrounge up a total of 30 sources and am basically reading huge over-1,000-page books non-stop so I can finish these things (one worth 1/4 of my grade and the other worth 200 points) before they are due, so I can proofread them up until I have to turn them in.

That’s enough about me, let’s get to the book. (With some personal stuff thrown in for good measure).

This month I read Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother by Amy Chua.

This book, at first, honestly? Made me feel so incredibly insignificant as a mother. Chua spent so much time teaching her children to play musical instruments, teaching them to count and prepare for Kindergarten, and all these amazing things that made me ask myself, more than once, “Am I doing the right thing as a mother?” It was such a difficult book to read at first, that I put it down twice, trying to tell myself that I’m not the typical, Western mother, but becoming a “Chinese mother” would not only damage me, but my children as well.

My mother re-married before I turned two to a man that was strict, he really had the “Old School” ways of raising a child down pat, and would push me with every new “thing” I tried, not allowing me to give up. He was never as pushy or as harsh as Chua, though, but throughout the book I couldn’t help remembering things from my childhood that caused me to push myself and become a better person, because of my Step-Father.

Throughout this book, I couldn’t help but feel a sense of foreboding, especially with her younger daughter. The younger daughter, Lulu is much more of a rebel than her older daughter, and the end of this book will almost bring you to tears.

This family had to face so many circumstances, with family illnesses and fighting between Chua and her daughters, that it is a really interesting and enlightening read.

The Chinese method doesn’t work for everyone, and the proof is in this book, but the read is wonderful, laugh-out-loud funny at times, as well as earth-altering in the beginning.

I definitely recommend it.

4 responses »

  1. I have heard so much about this lady. Just read one or two newspaper articles, but it has made me wonder if I don’t challenge my kids enough.

    Reply
  2. Hmm…I’d never heard of this at all. I might have to check it out. Thanks for linking up to Booking It; I may never have heard of it otherwise! 😀

    Reply
  3. I haven’t read this book, but I’ve heard about the author. I agree that we Westerners could probably be a little sterner with our children, but I think Chua takes it a little too far. I’m sure we could learn some things from her, and I bet she could learn something from us as well. What do you think?

    Reply
    • Yeah, I think there is a lot she could learn from the Western-style of mother as well. I think that, by the end of the book, she sort of realized that she took it a bit too far.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

