RSS Feed

Make it Yourself: Applesauce

My kids love applesauce. LOVE it. I am not a big fan, honestly, but I’m trying to make theirs more “real” than the store-bought stuff. And it’s one of the easiest things to make, I’m not sure why I didn’t do it before!

What you’ll need:

  • A pot big enough to boil the apples in
  • Apples
  • Something to smoosh the apples with
  • Something to put the applesauce in

Depending on how sweet you want the applesauce is how you will choose the apples you use. The kids like theirs sweet, so I only used Fuji apples (plus, I have 36 lbs of them, so I need to use them up).

First core and peel the apples. This is the hardest part. Then cut the apples into small pieces (not tiny, just cut them up). Put them in the pot and put water in the pot, just covering the apples.

Second, you’ll boil the pieces for about 36 minutes, give or take. Make sure and keep it at a strong boil the WHOLE time it’s on the stove.

Photobucket

After it’s boiled good, you can spoon the apple pieces into a bowl or into your food processor, whichever. I chose to mash the apples up with a potato masher.

Photobucket

If you want the applesauce to be more like baby food consistency, you should totally use the food processor. Since the kids are older, I used the potato masher because they don’t mind it lumpy.

After you’ve mashed them up good, spoon them into containers. I only used about 8 apples to start with, so it only filled up 2 small containers.

Photobucket

It tastes really good (and I’m not a fan of applesauce AT ALL). Put those containers in the fridge and you are all done. 🙂

Now, if you don’t want the applesauce that sweet, put a couple of Granny Smith apples in it, or a couple of other sour-ish apples. I plan on making some more this week because it was really freaking simple.

Now, enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

