RSS Feed

Decisions….

It’s become a running joke between myself and my husband that we change our minds more than we change our underwear. We will be thinking about packing it all up and moving to Florida one day and then the next morning, we’re wondering why we even entertained that thought for a moment.

We can’t seem to keep our mind going in one direction for too long. It could be because since we’ve been married, we’ve moved a whopping 14 times (that’s roughly 2 times a year). Yeah, 14 moves in 6 years does make it to where we don’t really want to commit our minds to one thing for too long.

It also could be The Husband’s military background. He moved every couple of years, so he has never really called one place “home”. Also, when he was a child, he and his family moved once or twice almost every year.

I, on the other hand, lived in my childhood home for 8 years, then went back to it for 2 years and then married my husband and moved in with him. Before him, I’d only moved 4 times in my 18 years, so moving was foreign and complicated to me. I grew up with a grounded sense of “home”. I knew that my home was close to my family. I was always down the road from friends, my grandparents, and although my father lived in Southern Florida most of the time, and I didn’t see him as often as I wanted to, I still knew that he was close.

Now, I’m over 2,000 miles away from the closest family I have. My brother moved back to Florida this week.

It all of a sudden seems like something has snapped inside of me. I don’t want to be out here, in the vast, cold wilderness, anymore. I don’t want to live by myself so much.

I can’t do it anymore.

I need my children to be around their grandparents, I need to be around my parents.

I can’t help but think that this line of thought will last all of two or three days before we change our minds, yet again.

I just wish, sometimes, that I knew what tomorrow held. A crystal ball would be so wonderful.

Anyone got one I can borrow? I just need it for a day or two.

2 responses »

  1. Moving is hard, I agree. I too am from the South and have a strong sense of family. Both my parents and my husband’s parents are less than a 30 minute drive away. My husband and I have talked about moving to another state, Florida actually, but I told him he would have to make enough money for me to fly home on a moment’s notice in case something happened to one of my parents, as they are not getting any younger. We just bought our first and hopefully only house in April of last year and love it. We were renting before. Fortunately for us, we moved only a few streets over from where we were so it did not involve changing the kid’s schools. For me, I wanted my kids to be able to stay in school with their friends and grow up with them.

    Reply
  2. Moving so much is tough. I can’t even imagine. I lived in the same house from the time I was 4 1/2 until I moved out at 17. My then boyfriend (now ex-husband) and I lived in the same house for 5 years.

    If you’re too far from family, do what you have to do to get back there. If you feel like part of you is missing, make it happen. You may find you’re much happier knowing family/friends are close by.

    It’s a tough choice to make. I hope it comes relatively easy for you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

