RSS Feed

Reading

The entire time I was in school this semester, all I wanted to do was read some books for fun. I bought a nook before the semester began, mostly because I’d heard wonderful things about it and mostly because I was tired of carrying 4 different books around in my purse (those things are heavy).

I couldn’t wait for the semester to end because I was so busy all the time, I couldn’t ever get a moment to read, and when I did stop to read, all I could think about was Biology and Econ.

I was so excited to be done, take a break and read a few books.

After the smester ended, I charged up my nook really well and then sat down, and although I have over 100 books on my nook, I just wasn’t interested in any of them.

I finished Atlas Shrugged within a week, which I’d been reading since July and couldn’t just finish it. I finished Life As We Knew It a couple of days ago, and sobbed afterwards, and also decided that hoarding storing food should be on my “To Do” list for the next year. I also read Before I Fall in a day, which was an interesting and kind of sad book, and now have The Hunger Games on deck to read tonight.

I look at this list and think, “Alright, I’m getting back into the swing of things” – but then I think, OhMyGOD, what is wrong with me? I am the girl that read Harry Potter book 4, How to Kill a Mockingbird, and another book all in the same day (and the 4th book of the Harry Potter series is about 800+ pages). Atlas Shrugged is the longest book I’ve read all year (1,200 pages) and it took me FIVE months to read it.

Sad. Absolutely just sad.

I know, I’m a mother, I don’t have time to just sit around and read. It’s Christmas-time, I am wrapping gifts, I am spending time with my husband who is actually home for 9 straight days, and I’v been a little sick.

But, I think the biggest thing is, I just don’t have much to read that I a) haven’t read or b) find interesting.

I have a lot of classics on my nook, but can’t get in to any of them; I have Sherlock Holmes books, which I *love* but I read a bit and then come back to it.

I dunno, I just feel like a bit of my love for reading is somehow slowly dying or something.

I hope I’m just over-thinking it.

Always read something that will make you look good if you die in the middle of it.
~ P. J. O’Rourke

Leave a Reply

