RSS Feed

Sad.

My birthday has not been a big deal since I’ve been married. We’ve either had 2 month old babies on my birthday or we were moving or, sometimes, even broke. Once we went to The Lion King off-Broadway production.

This year, my birthday especially sucked. My husband works a job where he can be gone a lot, out in the “field”. He put down today as a “personal holiday” and although we had nothing really planned, he wanted to be home.

Instead, he’s not. He’s at work.

Which I don’t begrudge him for. Not one little bit. I just wish sometimes that my life could be a little bit closer to normal. I wish that my husband went to work and came home every night, like other husbands.

It could be worse. I know that. I understand that. He could be in the military still, stationed in Afghanistan. I grieve for the women that have to go through that. I really, really do.

I just wish that he was here tonight.

I’m allowed to want that, aren’t I?

I’m sure I’m more upset than I should be, but I can’t really help it.

What a happy and holy fashion it is that those who love one another should rest on the same pillow.  ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

One response »

  1. Happy Birthday! You have every right to feel that way! Regardless, I hope you had a little fun on your birthday. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

