RSS Feed

Booking It: Month Four

I’m participating in Booking It over at Life as Mom! These are the books I’ve read this month:

**all links will take you to Barnes & Noble**

Book Title:A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

I first read this book when I was about 10. I remember thinking it was so long, but it’s really only about 300 pages. At the time, especially in small paperback form, it seemed like the longest book I would ever read. The story revolves around three children that travel with Mrs. Whatsit, Mrs. Who, and Mrs. Which to defeat the black thing and save Meg and Charles Wallaces’ father.

This book is a great work of fiction that is easily readable as well as easy to visualize. I can’t wait for my kids to get old enough to read it, because it is a really good story of good vs. evil as well as a great message.

Verdict: If you haven’t read it, read it. It’s good and it’s sweet and it’s good.

Book: Mind Hunter: Inside the FBI’s Elite Serial Crime Unit by John Douglas and Mark Olshaker

For some reason, since I’ve been a kid, I’ve always been interested in learning about why serial killers do what they do. I’m not sure why, and no I’m not crazy. I just can’t fathom what would cause someone to take someone else’s life. Although this book is graphic at times and uses less-than-courteous language, it is really good. This man helped come up with some of the processes that are used today and he is really good at his job. The book is really good, and totally interesting to me. One of the reasons I love my nook so much is that I can read this book without people scooting away from me in public places, because they can’t see it, lol.

Verdict: If you are interested in the reason behind serial killings like I am, read it. If not, don’t. It really depends on what piques your interest.

*and*

Books: Something Borrowed; Something Blue by Emily Giffin

You may have heard that Something Borrowed has been made into a movie and is now out (haven’t seen it yet, don’t spoil it!).

The first book, Something Borrowed, is a story that resonates for me because it reminds me of me and my best friend from high school. It’s a little backwards, but not really, I didn’t steal a boy from her, but she stole almost EVERY boyfriend I had. Or anyone I had a crush on. Or looked at. Or……well, you get the point.

Basically, Rachel is Darcy’s friend, but Darcy is a….well…she’s a not-so-great friend. Although throughout the book, you begin to think Rachel, the one that ends up in bed with Darcy’s fiance, is probably the horrible friend.

In any event, the story is catty and most women don’t like it. The only reason I do is because I’ve been there, I’ve had that friendship. I’ve been Rachel.

Although it wasn’t as serious, because no one was engaged. And I didn’t steal anyone from anyone.

Anyways, the second one in the series, Something Blue, is where the “wronged” friend (Darcy) goes to England to start over in her life and ends up finding peace with everything.

To me, the stories are fiction, so even though they are about cheating friends and somewhat-horrible people, I just remember that it is fiction.

Verdict: Not everyone’s cup of tea, but I like them.

Book: The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels — A Love Story┬áby Ree Drummond

Let me tell you something about Mrs. Drummond, she is awesome. She’s like the sister I never had, the aunt I want to hang out with all the time and the best friend I tell all my secrets to, wrapped in to one. I first found out about Ree when I was searching around bing for “farming blogs” because of my obsession with cows and farms. I found her blog and fell in love. For someone with an obsession with cows, her blog is absolutely perfect. She takes a lot of pictures of her perty little cows and kids and doggies.

But back to the book. her book is amazing. She writes in this amazing voice, one that is soothing and funny. The way that she talks about things and is so honest about everything is refreshing. I really enjoyed reading this book, and actually finished it a lot quicker than I wanted to. I didn’t want it to end.

Verdict: Great book written by a great woman. It’s funny, refreshing and beyond sweet. I definitely recommend it to everyone.

3 responses »

  1. Stopping by from Life As Mom…I’ve been wondering about the Pioneer Woman book – it sounds good. I love her blog, and she is definitely an endearing person… I may have to add this one to my list!

    Reply
  2. I enjoyed A Wrinkle in Time, too, when I read it as an adult. I still think it’s a little strange, but that didn’t keep me from enjoying more of the books in the series.

    Reply
  3. I agree with The Pioneer Woman book…I have heard about her blog…but read the book after picking it up on a whim at the Library and fell in love with her. Now I make sure to check her blog. She is an excellent writer…loved it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

