RSS Feed

Booking It On My Own

**I am participating in Booking It over at LifeasMom, I will be reviewing books, there will be SPOILERS.. I am not being paid for these opinions.**


I read 3 books this month. THREE! BOOKS! That weren’t required by my classes. It’s a miracle, seriously! So, let’s get started, shall we?

The first book that I read was Unplanned: The Dramatic True Story of a Former Planned Parenthood Leader’s Eye Opening Journey Across the Life Line by Abby Johnson, Cindy Lambert

This book made me cry at many times throughout the reading of it. It was a hard book, almost, to read. The book begins when Abby meets a Planned Parenthood spokesperson at her local college campus and she begins volunteering at Planned Parenthood as a person that meets clients at their vehicles and walks them to the door to shield them fromĀ protesters asking them not to abort their babies.

Throughout the book, Abby herself has two abortions, and many ups and downs in life. She continues to go higher up the ladder in Planned Parenthood until she is the director of her office. She begins to feel uneasy about her role, especially when pressured to do more abortions per month.

This book was so eye-opening to me, because it showed a true story of the depths of God’s love. Throughout the book, she struggles to find a church that will accept her, because of her role with Planned Parenthood. When she steps out of that role, the church that accepted her begins to shun her. It is eye-opening because during this time, people that she didn’t even know where praying for her, and even though there are people at churches that shun her or turn away from her for different reasons, she was still able to cling to God.

________________________________________________

The second book I read was I Love You, Ronnie: The Letters of Ronald Reagan to Nancy. Even though I am writing a paper about Ronald Reagan for my History class, this was not a book that I read for that paper. It’s too old of a book to use as a source, but I just couldn’t put it down once I started reading it, it was absolutely tear-jerking.

The amount of adoration between these two is amazing, and you see it throughout this book, in her written words in-between the letters, to his letters. It brought tears to my eyes almost from the beginning, because I can only imagine having a love like they had.

She talks about why she kept the letters, which have now been given to the Reagan Library in California. She kept these letters in shopping bags, and took them with her every time they moved, much to the disdain of the movers.

Throughout the writing, you can tell how much she still adores the man that she called her husband for 50+ years.

Ronnie was my whole life. I couldn’t imagine living without him, and I didn’t want to run the risk of anything happening to us.

You can also almost feel the pain that she felt throughout the final stages of his Alzheimer’s.

In recent years, as Alzheimer’s disease has gradually taken away Ronnie’s ability to write, to remember, these letter have become even more important to me. They bring back so many memories.

She tells of how he would write her a letter from across the room in the oval office, the writing gave him the ability to tell her things without saying themĀ out loud.

The book is absolutely amazing.

____________________________________________

The last book is called The Book of Tomorrow by Cecelia Ahern. This book is about a young girl that finds a mysterious diary that, when she breaks the lock and reads it, tells about the future and written in her own hand. At first, she is completely and totally freaked out by it, obviously, but in the end, it could save her life.

This book was pretty good. I skipped a few pages because it would describe things so much that it almost got monotonous. Other than that, the story line is good.

The basic story line is that Tamara, the main character, has a life-altering move to the middle of nowhere with her very strange aunt and uncle. She knows something is off within the first couple of weeks, when a picture book she was looking at disappears off the shelf. She finds a book that she breaks the lock on and begins to read, only to realize that the handwriting looks eerily familiar, and it is dated a day ahead of time.

This is a really good, quick read, because it is a mystery that keeps you guessing pretty much up until the end. A lot of different theories of what was going on ran through my head throughout the book, because it has a few different twists and turns.

 

So, there’s my books for the month, did you Book It?

8 responses »

  1. Recently, I read a book about Reagan, and it intrigued me and made me want to learn more about him. I Love You, Ronnie looks like a good follow-up; thanks for the recommendation.

    I’ve also wanted to read Unplanned; thanks for the reminder.

    Reply
  2. Your the second person linked at Life as Mom that has mentioned a Reagan book. Maybe I need to read more about him.

    Reply
  3. The letters from Ronald Reagan to his wife sounds like a good one! I’m Booking it too…I read two great books this month…Cold Tangerines and Sabbath…feel free to read my reviews at http://www.morethanmundane.com

    Reply
  4. I actually own I Love You, Ronnie; I’m a big Ronald Reagan fan and really enjoyed that book.

    Thanks for reviewing unPlanned. I just heard about it on the radio today and it sounded like an interesting read.

    Reply
  5. My husband received the book about the Reagans a few years ago, and now you’ve inspired me to read it! Thanks for sharing….

    Reply
  6. I Love You, Ronnie sounds like a great book. Might have to check that out in the future. Thanks for the review!

    Reply
  7. I read Unplanned too- put it on my MUST READ list! I would love to read the book about Ronald Reagan. I really liked him.

    Reply
  8. Great job reading three books! I’m sure I would have cried through the first book, too.

    Keep up the good work! I’m a student at the moment too so I know how hard it is to find time to read books that aren’t required for a class you’re in.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

